top of page
  • Writer's pictureShannon

The Next Journey Begins

Now that Dark Mirror is out in the world, it's time to buckle down and try to sell. And that means...


Marketing. Is there anything worse than marketing your book? For me, it’s awful. I want to write and I want people to like what I write, so, the best way to get my stories into the hands of people is to sell it. However, I suck at marketing. So, yes, marketing is a necessary evil. At least for me.

And yes, I have found something worse: Research. Trying to learn how to market because your so broke you can’t afford to sneeze is nothing funny. Trying to rub two cents together leaves you little to nothing to pay someone else to help you sell your book.

So far the troubles I keep running into are the things I need to learn are out there, but I just can’t find them; people entice you with promises that they fail to deliver; or are just interested in signing you up for the next thing. Yes, everyone has the right to make a dollar, but when I sign up for a class or webinar I expect a certain amount of information to be supplied. I don’t expect, and don’t appreciate them trying to sell me the information I signed up for in the “next” class.

Anyone out there having the same issue?

I sigh in frustration, turn down their usually very generous offer, and keep looking. One day I hope to figure out the mystery behind marketing, but until then, I will struggle onward.

And so my learning journey continues.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research bites

Get out your pen and paper for I've got some interesting stuff to share with you. Another week has passed on my research journey and I've come to the conclusion that research bites. This last week of

bottom of page